Healthy Eating – 2 weeks in

It’s two weeks since I started this whole improving my diet stuff and the weekend provided the first challenge. On Saturday I went out and it turned into a big night and I ended up getting in at 4am.

I spoke before about how I was almost looking forward to the first time all the rules went out of the window, to see how I would react after – would I go straight back to the old ways or stick to the changes? Well it would appear that so far so good. I’ve pretty much slotted back into the routine – it was a little tough but nowhere near as hard as two weeks ago when I was first starting.

Also, on Friday night I was pretty close to making my cheat meal a full blown take away but stopped short and instead made my own chips in the oven, which worked a treat.

Oh and I had a glass of wine as well
Oh and I had a glass of wine as well

As for the kind of meals I’ve been eating in general, it has been mostly things like couscous and veggies, brown rice, stuff like that

IMG_0835[1]

My grandad lives with me and, being from Jamaica, he cooks things from home that I not only love but fit perfectly with how I eat as well, like yam and banana, boiled dumplings (and fried dumplings, which you can’t beat), saltfish, things like that.

Yam, cod and a boiled dumpling. The texture of boiled dumplings is immense
Yam, cod and a boiled dumpling. The texture of boiled dumplings is immense

I’ve only had meat a couple of times – as I said before the way the animals are treated doesn’t sit well with me any more, but wouldn’t you know it the chicken I made came out better than nearly any other time I’ve done it.

IMG_0839[1]
chicken in breadcrumbs (which was shared, all three pieces weren’t for me
Talking of portion sizes, I think I’ve said before how my portion sizes have dramatically dropped since I started eating differently – I seem to be full on less, but still have a lot of energy. For example, the other time I had meat I had this

IMG_0845[1]

Before I would’ve wanted the opposite of this, more meat, less veggies, but one piece was more than enough, same with the chicken.

Just the one bit of chocolate so far – maybe at the end of the month I’ll go for something like this –

This was last summer - and was epic
This was last summer – and was epic

A song

 

Leave a Reply

