So, freelance writing huh?

Yep, I’m dipping my toe into the world of freelance writing and I have to say, on the surface, it seems very viable and quite exciting, what with websites like Elance and DoNanza advertising lots of shiny jobs for those inclined to all things writerly; article writing, blogging, creative stuff. I can’t shake the feeling that something isn’t quite right though, and that beneath the shiny surface of what admittedly seems like a veritable haven for writers of all levels of experience in this freelancing world, that something isn’t quite right, or doesn’t add up. Will I be able, with enough hard work, actually be able to genuinely carve out a decent enough reputation to earn a decent wage? Or will I be caught in a swirl of low paid article writing that leads nowhere? I guess there’s only one way to find out.

I find myself going down this avenue because, well, I’m a writer and whilst I get my other stuff in order (which you can read about in previous posts) it seems like a good opportunity to see if there’s gold in them there hills. Because when it comes down to it, I need to start earning money, for all that boring stuff like bills and other stuff that keeps a roof over your head.

So I’m in the process of setting up profiles on the sites that I’ve found, researched and seem to be legit. As anyone who has ever set up a profile on anything knows – which I guess is pretty much everyone – setting up multiple ones, adding portfolios etc gets very tedious very quickly. It would be nice to just be able to put ‘I write stuff, please pay me’.

Until then, I’ll keep it professional.

A Song

A bit of Ladytron today

Leave a Reply

