Film Talk – The Paperboy (2012)

I’ll preface all of this by saying that I decided to use this post as my first post done entirely on my iPhone, just to see how it would turn out. I’m also in bed, so let’s see how this goes.

I don’t normally go out of my way to listen to, read or watch a film review of a film I’m going to watch – in fact I actively avoid them – but I made an exception today by watching Mark Kermode’s review of The Paperboy before going ahead and watching it on Netflix.

I’d gathered that the film had a somewhat marmite reputation but had no idea of anything specific about the plot or what happens. So to hear Kermode place this film and certain scenes within it alongside Killer Joe, one of my favourite films I’ve seen this year, made me excited to sit down and watch it – and you know what? I wasn’t disappointed.

The Paperboy is a sleazy, ridiculous, fun, sexy, depraved, over the top, poignant, sad, ruthless film that features a jailhouse scene that definitely, indisputably is on a par with that chicken scene in Killer Joe

I find it hilarious that this is directed by Lee Daniels, he of The Butler fame, a film so far removed from the madness of The Paperboy that I’d happily give you a tenner if you were able to guess correctly that he directed it if you didn’t know beforehand.

It does though fit in nicely alongside his work on Precious another film that was uncomfortable in places. Whilst The Paperboy is a whole different kettle of crazy, I like how this director uses juxtapositions very effectively. If you remember how in Precious he’d often cut through a serious moment by bringing to life what Precious was thinking at the time, there are similar instances of this in The Paperboy

The only fitting way to end this little discussion would be to mention just how superb the whole cast are, from Nicole Kidman, to Macy Gray, to Matthew McConaughey to John Cusack to Zach Efron to David Oyelowo to everyone I’ve missed out, they were all great.

Actually, I’ll end by saying that this review by Peter Bradshaw of the Guardian is well worth a read as its a great piece of reviewing.

IMDB rating: 5.8
My Rating: 7.5

http://youtu.be/m2GMwWaDSr0

4 comments

Leave a Reply

