No More Panicking About Time?

There are times when I am gripped by an all consuming panic that time is running away from me and I’ll never get anything finished to a standard where I’m happy to put it out in the world and I’ll forever be stuck in the hell of rewriting and deep breath and relax because I know other writers know exactly what I mean.

And then after it’s passed and I’m objective about things, I can look at my work and say, you know what, I wouldn’t say I’m prolific just yet, but I’m certainly more prolific than I used to be. I remind myself that at least at this stage in my writing life I more often than not finish what I start, which to me demonstrates the addition of discipline to the sheer desire and enjoyment of writing. I can go and read articles that I’ve had published, which shows I can be versatile when I need to be, and then there’s the fact that I’ll be having a short story published on an independent publishers blog very soon (and you can bet I’ll be going into more detail about that).

And then there’s this –

The novel’s gestation period was long. Wallace began Infinite Jest, “or something like it”, at various times between 1986 and 1989. His efforts in 1991-92 were more productive. (Taken from the IJ Wiki page)

 

Yeah, that’s a helluva gestation period, the bloody thing wasn’t published until 1996, but you know what, it’s not even that uncommon, not really. Things take time. I’ve had a script idea I’ve been going back to for about 8 years now but as long as it doesn’t become all consuming and I’m still starting and finishing other projects, who cares.

It’s probably true that ‘the panic’ will always strike at times, but really, all you have to do is just move past it and keep writing, writing, writing, writing, writing, writing, writing………………….

Leave a Reply

