Nanowrimo and a key skill you learn from completing it

I wrote this for another blog that I no longer use after completing my first Nanowrimo last year and, with that time of year fast approaching, I thought I’d share it again here on a blog I actually do use. 

It’s safe to say the dust has fully settled on another Nanowrimo. This year happened to be the first time I took part and I reached my personal goal of 80,000 words. During the challenge I kept up with how other people were doing via Twitter. I knew there would be many people that would be struggling but my interest was in seeing who pushed through to the end and completed the minimum 50,000 words to complete the challenge.

If you did complete the challenge and found that you really had to push yourself to finish, then you have gained a skill that will stand you in good stead throughout your writing life. That skill is persistence.

One of the hardest things to do in life is to complete a task when you just don’t feel like doing it. This difficulty is multiplied when it is an on-going task, such as Nanowrimo. After all, miss a day and suddenly you find yourself having to work even harder to catch up.

The fact of the matter is though, you can’t be ‘on’ every day. It doesn’t work like that. Sometimes you’re going to have just shut up and tough it out. This applies not only to writing, but to life.

In football, one of the marks of a great team is being able to win when you’re playing badly. If you have an interest in boxing you’ll know the training camps boxers go through are intense and they don’t always feel like doing it – but they do anyway.

Similarly, Nanowrimo is an intense month, incredibly so for those that have jobs and family commitments to juggle alongside writing. But it is a month that you can learn so many different skills from, persistence for me being the most important one. The key now is to maintain that skill you have. The way to maintain it is to keep using it. So continue to be persistent.

 

Leave a Reply

