Film Talk: The Strange Color of Your Body’s Tears (2013)

I’ll say two things outright: This won’t be a long review and I can’t say I was too taken by what I just watched.

Plot: A man returns home from a business trip to find that his wife is missing and in the course of trying to find her gets drawn into a twisted journey of discovery within the maze-like halls of his apartment building.

This is another one of those films that both owes a debt to and also plays up its Giallo inspired psychological horror. The problem is, having seen Berberian Sound Studio recently, I couldn’t help but feel that this film was firmly in its shadow. The use of sound, the cinematography, the tone, feel and theme all felt better executed in BSS.

I went and checked out a few reviews and this film quite clearly divides opinion, especially the way the narrative is handled and unfolds in a succession of bizarre sequences that seem to bare no real relation to each other.

It feels more like an art installation than a film and whilst it does have it’s fair share of striking images, ultimately I was left feeling cold by it. Cold and empty. It just didn’t elicit any sort of response from me which I do think is weird because it does assault your senses.

It scores a pretty solid 6.1 on IMDB, but I’d have to go for a 5/10.

One comment

Leave a Reply

