NaNoWriMo day 17

Still on track.

Today I crawled along at a snails pace and felt bizarrely cold and indifferent to my characters, my writing, everything really. Luckily as the day has worn on I’ve snapped out of that and will probably do a bit more now before I go to bed.

I think the lull in my motivation came from the fact that I’m now launching into the second half of my story; it was like my brain needed some time to switch gears and get ready.

I’m definitely trying to make this a 50k or thereabouts story. I think it will be good for me and a good next step in my development. I successfully did 80k words last year but reading it back, there is good stuff there but it falls down in to many places. Even with re-writes there are fundamental flaws there (maybe in part due to what I discussed in my previous post to this).

Having completed a 10k (just over) short story and a 30k novella, I think a good solid 50k story that I am completely happy with will be awesome and then I can start looking at bigger full length novels – 80k+ words.

Out of interest because I know there are lots of differing opinions, what do you think 50k words constitutes?  A full novel, or a novella?

2 comments

  1. I think 50k can be considered a novel! Books such as The Great Gatsby, The Giver, Brave New World, Slaughterhouse-Five, Lord of the Flies, Generation X and The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy all had roughly that word count and I would definitely say that they are novels 🙂 but maybe that’s just me.

Leave a Reply

