NaNoWriMo – 50k words: Done

So I’ve completed my second NaNoWriMo after going on a bit of a writing spree in the past couple of days.

Storyline

I went back and forth a bit with my story, adding in new scenes at the beginning and there’s a lot of detail missing in the lead up to the conclusion which I’ll obviously tighten up when I go through it.

I have to be honest and say I didn’t enjoy this NaNoWriMo as much as my first one, principally because my storyline was evolving so much – including the end completely changing – that it was often an unwieldy process trying to keep track of everything whilst knowing that in some cases (certain chapters and characters) it was a futile exercise.

I like to have everything clear in my head before I sit down and begin a story but it was quite a late decision to do NaNoWriMo this year. I wanted to embrace the general idea behind NaNoWriMo this time around and just shoot for 50k words without getting too caught up with making sure everything is just so. Turns out I don’t do so well working like that which I guess isn’t much of a surprise seeing as I talk so much about the importance of planning a story.

Weirdly

Although I’m not exactly crowing about the experience this year, weirdly enough I think in the long run this will probably prove to be a more successful NaNoWriMo.

I discussed earlier in the month how last year I did 80k words on a story that at the time I thought had a lot of potential. In fact I still do, I just haven’t executed it well enough. It was though a story I had thought about a lot in the run-up to NaNoWriMo and so knew where I was going. Consequently I found it easier.

This year I ran with an idea against my better judgement and was flying somewhat blind, yet despite everything I’m excited because I know there’s so much good stuff there. I’m excited to finish it and for people to one day read it.

 

What Now?

I’m going to print it out and slowly go through it and work out a proper outline for it.

But in the next couple of weeks my top priority is going to be to go through my novella once more using the feedback I’ve got and give it the final polish it needs before I submit it.

 

One comment

Leave a Reply

