Inquisitive: Part 7

Part 7 of my short story – you can find all the previous parts here too. Let me know what you think.

River Ram Press #InspireWriters #InspireReaders

By Hassan Izzo

I nodded in response.

“It’s actually been seven days.”

“Seven days?”

“Yes.”

I studied the woman opposite me. I’d only ever seen photographs of my grandmother and was fairly sure that this woman was her, but my mind was struggling to take everything in. “Is it really you?”

“Yes.”

“Is granddad here?” She didn’t respond straight away and I don’t know why, but I sensed she was trying to maintain her composure.

“I’m going to ask that you trust me.”

“Trust you?”

“You weren’t meant to see all of this now, but you are here, so I need you to trust me and do as I say.”

“OK, I trust you.”

“Good, because you wouldn’t want to spend eternity in that corridor would you?”

My mouth went dry instantly at the thought. “No…why, could that happen?”

“Only if you do not listen to me, my dear boy.”

View original post 619 more words

2 comments

  1. Well, I did not see this coming. I do not normally read what my wife has called “fantasia”, but you have been given a long lead and I have to say, it is still intriguing. Puberty as a gateway. I’m already imagining a wacky 80’s movie body change scenario though I know you are going for something deeper than laughs. And so I continue reading. Keep it up, brother.

Leave a Reply

