Cooking dinner for someone is definitely one of life’s pleasures

Last Thursday one of my closest friends came round for dinner and I decided I’d cook something special. I plumped for a combination that was indulgent – Dauphinoise potatoes with duck breast – and paired that with something refreshing and healthy – a veggie and fruit juice.

Double cream, potatoes, garlic, salt and pepper, hmmm
Double cream, potatoes, garlic, salt and pepper, hmmm
The ingredients for the juice, not including the salt. There was also ginger in it too.
The ingredients for the juice, not including the salt. There was also ginger in it too.
That's what it looks like when it's done, lovely and green
That’s what it looks like when it’s done, lovely and green

I stupidly forgot to take both a picture of the duck or one of the whole dish together. My phone doesn’t seem to focus properly sometimes now for some reason either.

Anyway, I actually put some thought into the flavours; I regularly make juices for myself and there is a certain combo of greens and fruit that is incredibly refreshing, which I thought would work perfectly and cut through the heavier flavours of the potatoes and duck, all of which were things she commented on, unprompted by me, so I’ll give myself a pat on the back for that and for the fact she wanted seconds of the potatoes and loved the duck. Next time I’ll have to make a sauce to go with it.

I didn’t make a dessert, plumping instead for chocolate. I’ve never even attempted to make a sweet dish, I much prefer the idea of cooking big, bold, savoury dishes.

I cook regularly for myself but that’s always just simple, rudimentary cooking but the truth is I very much enjoy the process of cooking and it is something that I want to properly develop. I’m one of those people that is addicted to Masterchef, watches cookery programmes all the time and spends more time than I care to admit in front of Food Network.

I’m planning on taking on a prawn laksa sometime this week.

2 comments

Leave a Reply

